Intentional Living

Image

‘I went to the woods because I wanted to live deliberately. I wanted to live deep and suck all the marrow out of life.’ ~Henry David Thoreau

I recently finished reading Notes From A Blue Bike: The Art of Living Intentionally in a Chaotic World by Tsh Oxenreider. This is a wonderful read if you desire to live a better life making conscious choices that align with your values in life. A challenge to live more simply, more fully and with more purpose.

‘What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us.’ ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

 In reading this book, I couldn’t help but become challenged to look at my own life to see where I could tweak adjustments in order to live this one life I’ve been given with more intention. I am starting with 3 and will build from there.

  1. Purposely slowing down to enjoy the very process of living more intentionally. I wanted to create a unique daily ritual that would serve as a reminder to me the importance of  this. In my world, when the littles wake up my day is a go with any ‘ME’ going out the window. So, if I want to capture a moment that speaks to my spirit and energizes my soul, the time has to be found on purpose. I intentionally get up a few hours before the rest of the house and do different things such as: exercise, shower, devotional time, read, blog or journal. Doing a combination of these things delights my heart and helps bring quality inner peace to help clear the clutter and chaos.
  2. Increase sensitivity to the little things in life. I usually compare my days with my littles to the movie Groundhog Day. Our schedule is structured and aligned to their needs and brings them comfort in knowing the routine. Yet, there are little tweaks in each moment of the day to bring a bit of uniqueness to it. So instead of letting the monotony mangle my mind, I shift my thoughts to seeing the small, little changes. The new words my youngest is speaking, the chatterbox my oldest is becoming, the sweet embraces and kisses of siblings, laughter that erupts when gas is passed (yes, I have boys!!), the excitement they have when they see me…because these moments will not last forever. They will transition into new phases as their little lives change them into little men in the blink of an eye. I want to keep a keen sensitivity to these little things in life so I created a gratitude journal that I write these blessings down to help me to remember the moment now as well as a list to reflect on later to remember what was.
  3. Making daily choices that align my life with passions and values that reflects my unique personality. There are so many different paths one can journey along. To me, this is weeding through the mass quantity in order to value the quality. I’m applying this in different areas of my life, but for a simple example I am putting it to use in the world of the web. With all types of social media ~ facebook, instagram, twitter, pinterest, etc…it can be overwhelming and quite burdensome to navigate through these daily. I’ve chosen a few I want to invest in while putting aside the others for a season. I’ve done the same with blogs I enjoy reading. I could literally get lost within myself reading blogs all day. There are many great ones out there! Yet, I’ve chosen a few that I will read on a regular basis that fit my personality and interests best (weeding through the mass to value quality).

If you find yourself following your life instead of consciously making daily choices that align your life to your passions and personality, you might enjoy this book. It is not one that you read once and never pick back up. It will be one that I revisit often to guide me deeper into this intentional living.

Leave a Reply

