Fashioning Joy

73d13a8d3de429e8964c3fee606dfcd5
Peace. Sparkling jewelry. Candles burning. Inviting atmosphere. A book. Crackling fire. Coffee. Befriending a cozy chair bundled up in a blanket. Vase full of lovely flowers. A rain storm.  Helping those in need. Watching my littles sleep.

What are these things, you ask? Just a few of my favorite things that I have fashioned into joy! Joy is defined as a feeling of great pleasure and happiness. Everyone finds peace in a variety of ways and in different things. I have come to find that there are many moments, ideas, experiences, expressions that cross my path daily in which I must gaze upon and give thanks to the Creator for them. In this gratitude is a journey that only leads to joy! I can’t begin to express in words how thrilling it is to shape these things into your own personal joy that only He can give! That is exactly what it is…a gift! To us. The Beloved who knows the inner most parts of our very being, the intricate weavings of what makes our heart beat wildly…these gifts are from Him!

He is the giver of all good things! We are surrounded in every day living with His goodness. It is when I slow down enough to unwrap all the amazing little gifts that He places before me in every moment that my heart overflows with gladness. Yet I wonder if it is really the gifts that bless me more or the instant joy I feel knowing that I am wildly loved enough to be lavished upon by my Husband! Immediately, thankfulness and gratitude fill my mouth and are spoken through the lips to Him who provides beauty in the beats of my heart. He knows exactly what provides me with joy as He alone fashioned me together in my mother’s womb.

In this toxic, stained world that also encompasses us, each day I choose joy. I decide to push forward beyond the hurt, pain and numbness that is open for my heart to accept and reach for joy in the small that I see to change the way I experience life and the world that spins around me.

What makes your heart happy and beat with pleasure? One of the greatest things about grasping this concept of fashioning your joy that I have found is that it keeps my mind always looking for the positive and finding the happy in all things at all times.

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ Sarah Ban Breathnach

Leave a Reply

